Calendar of Expiration Dates
For GRACE Class spaces
GRACE Class spaces assume that the courses follow the standard University semester calendar, and that the GRACE space for a course can go away after the semester is over. We provide a little bit of time after the semester is over for things to be saved, etc., but it is not intended for regular access after the semester is over.
If you need access which does not follow the standard semester calendar, you should request a GRACE project space instead.
Access to GRACE class spaces expire on the following schedule, according to the semester the course is in:
|Semester||Logins Disabled||File Access Removed||Space Deleted|
|Fall||15 Jan *||15 Apr *||15 Oct *|
|Winter||15 Feb *||15 May *||15 Nov *|
|Spring||15 Jun||15 Sep||15 Mar *|
|All Summer Semesters||15 Sep||15 Dec||15 May *|
The asterisks(*) in the table above indicate that the expiration date is in the year following the year for the semester. E.g., access to files for courses in the Fall 2013 semester will be denied on 15 April 2014. For the winter semester, that is actually the same calendar year as the semester, since the semester in the first half of January 2014 is considered the Winter 2013 semester (e.g. access to files for the Winter 2012 semester, which met in January 2013, was disabled on 15 May 2013).
The various expiration stages are defined below:
- Logins Disabled
- Unix shell login access to the various grace.umd.edu systems will be disabled unless the student/faculty/etc is registered or otherwise associated with a current GRACE course or project. Affected users should still be able to login to the terpconnect.umd.edu as long as they are still registered or otherwise affiliated with the university. This mainly impacts CMSC courses; most other classes do not generally make use of Unix shell access, so if you do not understand what this is, you can probably safely ignore it.
- File Access Removed
- Access to all files associated with the GRACE course is removed, for students, TAs, and faculty members. The web pages for the course will be unaccessible, and you will no longer be able to read or write any files associated with the course. At this stage, the files still exist, but you will have to make a special request to have access temporarily restored, long enough for you to copy files elsewhere. Please be sure to include the course, section, and semester, as well as how long you expect to need the access.
- Space Deleted
- At this stage, the GRACE course and all files, etc. associated are deleted on the system to make space available for future courses. Once this happens, all data is lost for good.
For GRACE Project spaces
GRACE Project spaces also are expired so that the resources can be applied to new projects. Unlike with GRACE Courses, each project has its own expiration date. By default, this date is one year from the time the project was created, but the owner of the project can request to have this extended for up to a year in the future. One can repeatedly extend the expiration, but we require a request for extension to be made every year. This is to prevent projects from continuing indefinitely after the owner has left the University. NOTE: extending the expiration date of a project requires approval by a human in the Division of Information Technology, which can take one or two business days, so it is best not to wait until the last minute. However, if the expiration sneaks up on you, please call (301-405-1500) or personally visit (CSS Bldg, Room 1400) the Help Desk and they can call someone to approve the request in an emergency.
As the expiration date for a project nears, emails will be sent to the owners of the project to remind them to renew if they wish the project to continue.
If a project expires, it goes through the same three stages as an expiring course. Logins are disabled on the day the project expires, access to files is removed 30 days after the project expires, and the project is permamently deleted 90 days after that (120 days after the expiration date). As with course expirations, depending on how the project space is used, the disabling of logins might or might not be noticed. The period between file access being disabled and the deletion of the project is provided as a buffer; hopefully even if you ignored the emails, you will notice when the file access is removed, and if necessary can renew the project before it is deleted. Once deleted, the data is gone for good.